Royal Blood - 'Royal Blood'
4th September 2014
 Written by:
Matt Ward
Rock and Roll

Brighton, England

Record Label:

Warner Brothers Records


Discover Royal Blood for yourself
Buy Royal Blood for £6.99

As far as debut albums go, the long anticipated release of Royal Blood’s self-titled album must surely be up there with some of the best of recent years. Released on 25th August through Warner Brothers Records, Royal Blood sold 66,000 copies within its first week of release, propelling it to the top of the Official UK Albums Chart.

This rock and roll duo from Brighton is comprised of Mike Kerr (lead vocals & bass) and Ben Thatcher (drums). The lads only got together in 2013, but have quickly forged an unbelievably powerful and intriguing sound that could easily be mistaken for that of a four-piece. The most unique part of their music is the fact that Kerr is actually on bass guitar.

Royal Blood starts as it means to go on with Thatcher’s all mighty drumming and Kerr’s dark lyrics. Opening track ‘Out of the Black’ catches your attention instantly with lines like “You made a fool out of me and took the skin off my back running” and “I’ve got a gun for a mouth and a bullet with your name on it.” These are the lyrics of a man who means business and has a story to tell.

‘Figure It Out’ has a catchy intro and as strange as it may sound, it has a slight “Queen” element about it. ‘Little Monster’ was released as a single back in 2013 and has received a fair amount of acclaim already.

Of the tracks which hadn’t aired prior to the album release, ‘You Can Be So Cruel’ and ‘Ten Tonne Skeleton’ are the definite standouts. You can’t help but feel Kerr’s pain and anguish at the way his apparent relationship has sadly ended, along with a very “Queens of the Stone Age” vibe.

If truth be told, there isn’t a bad track on this album. It’s that bloody good. With it selling more in the first week than previous debut albums including ‘Is This It’ by The Strokes, ‘Kasabian’ by Kasabian and ‘Showbiz’ by Muse, you could say that Royal Blood have well and truly joined the party.

​Track Listing:

1) Out of the Black
2) Come On Over
3) Figure It Out
4) You Can Be So Cruel
5) Blood Hands
6) Little Monster
7) Loose Change
8) Careless
9) Ten Tonne Skelton
10) Better Strangers

The Word on New Music

The Word on New Music