The Graveltones - 'Don't Wait Down'​
6th November 2013
 Written by:
Matt Ward

​Discover The Graveltones for yourself

Buy Don't Wait Down for £7.99

With The Ashes just around the corner, you might find it hard to believe that a couple of Australians are currently a hit in England. If truth be told, The Graveltones are reaching out to a far wider audience than merely their adopted home of London. This is thanks to playing a supporting role to the likes of Rival Sons and The Temperance Movement, airplay on Team Rock Radio and an appearance at the legendary Download Festival.

But with their debut album 'Don’t Wait Down', released October 2013 on Lagoon Dog Records, the time has now come for The Graveltones to step out of the shadows and take centre stage. Duo Jimmy O (Vocals and Guitar) and Mikey Sorbello (Drums) have released one beauty of a blues-rock album, which on hearing for the very first time leaves you thinking, ‘What the hell just happened?’ With Sorbello beating the drums within an inch of their lives, and Jimmy O howling in tandem with his guitar, this is an album of much promise.

The opening track ‘Bang Bang’ sets the tone for the album perfectly, and one which you could imagine blaring out your car stereo as you sped down the coast on a summers day. You’re able to catch your breath briefly by the time you reach ‘Crime To Be Talkin’ and ‘I’m a Liar’ really shows off Jimmy O’s adaptability to the slower numbers. ‘Catch Me On The Fly’, the first single release off the album, is by far the standout track. A powerful, sped up 1950’s style number, which wouldn’t look out of place at a ‘modern day’ ballroom, with elegant women being spun around the dance floor franticly by their partners.

With a recent nomination for Best New Band of 2013, courtesy of the Classic Rock Awards, this could well set the tone for a very bright future for the band. The Graveltones are sure to be gazing towards 2014 with much excitement and anticipation.

Track Listing:

1) Bang Bang
2) Forget About The Trouble
3) Dying On Your Feet
4) St. Lucia
5) Money
6) Crime To Be Talkin'
7) Lightning Bolt
8) I Am A Liar
9) You're No Good
10) Catch Me On The Fly
11) Never Going Back
12) Six Billion

The Word on New Music

The Word on New Music